top of page
Search
  • tthanos2000

Are you afraid when you hear the word public speaking?

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

Public speaking anxiety is an extremely common fear (Furmark, 2000, p. 1335). Did you know that people are more afraid of speaking publicly than they are of death? Strange huh? Well, that is the truth for most people. I am hear to tell you that it it not a big deal and that you can control that fear. I have been teaching public speaking for about 10 years now and I must say it is not uncommon for students to dread giving presentations to the point where they might even be absent on the day pf presentations! But you know what the most rewarding part of my job is? To see my kids take a 360 degree turn by the end of the nine weeks in my class. YES! it is possible because I have witnessed it. Those scared faces that walk in my class on day one leave on day 45 as completely different kids with such confidence and happiness that they made through the nine weeks in Mrs. Yiakos's class just like she promised!

References


Furmark, T., (2000). Social phobia subtypes in the general population revealed by cluster

analysis. Psychological Medicine, 30(6):1335–1344.

13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

SCHOOL IS OUT FOR THE SUMMER!

So now that school is out for the summer and we have survived this crazy year, what can we do to continue improving our communication skills? Unfortunately, during the Covid-19 pandemic, our communica

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page